2020 Virtual Conference Program


Wednesday: October 28, 2020


10:00 11:30 a.m. PDT / 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. EDT

Annual Meeting (Members Only)


12:00 1:00 p.m. PDT / 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. EDT

Grantmakers’ Racial Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Discussion

Hosted by Animal Grantmakers; and, Dani LaGiglia and Johnny Jenkins with PetSmart Charities


4:00 5:00 p.m. PDT / 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. EDT

Virtual Cocktail Hour

Thursday: October 29, 2020


9:30 10:00 a.m. PDT / 12:30 – 1:00 p.m. EDT

Gathering & Networking with Peers


10:00 10:15 a.m. PDT / 1:00 – 1:15 p.m. EDT

Welcome & Introductions

Opening Remarks by Louisa McCune, Board President


10:15 – 10:20 a.m. PDT / 1:15 1:20 p.m. EDT

In Verse: A Poetry Reading

Mary Logan Wolf, author and poet


10:20 10:50 a.m. PDT / 1:20 1:50 p.m. EDT

Litigation Update

Anthony Eliseuson, litigation program director, Animal Legal Defense Fund


10:50 11:00 a.m. PDT / 1:50 – 2:00 p.m. EDT

State of Animal Philanthropy

Andrew Rowan, founding member, Animal Grantmakers; grants advisor, Edith J. Goode Residuary Trust


11:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. PDT / 2:00 3:00 p.m. EDT

Belonging: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Animal Philanthropy

James Evans, president, CARE  (Companions and Animals for Reform and Equity); Marcus Walton, president and CEO, Grantmakers for Effective Organizations; Michael J. Blackwell, DVM, MPH, director, Program for Pet Health Equity, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville


12:00 – 12:15 p.m. PDT / 3:00 3:15 p.m. EDT

Break


12:15 12:45 p.m. PDT / 3:15 3:45 p.m. EDT

The Medium is the Message

James Wilks, producer, "The Game Changers" (documentary film)


12:45 1:15 p.m. PDT / 3:45 4:15 p.m. EDT

Momentum: Civil Rights Movement as a Collective Impact Model for Animal Protection

Paul Schmitz, principal, Leading Inside Out


1:15 1:20 p.m. PDT / 4:15 4:20 p.m. EDT

Break


1:20 1:30 p.m. PDT / 4:20 4:30 p.m. EDT

Shelter Animals Count: Update

Sara Kent, chief executive officer, Shelter Animals Count: The National Database


1:30 – 1:45 p.m. PDT / 4:30 – 4:45 p.m. EDT

Animal Funding Atlas: Update

Che Green, principal, Cultivate Insights; founder & board member, Faunalytics


1:45 2:10 p.m. PDT / 4:45 – 5:10 p.m. EDT

The Knowledge Bridge

Phil Tedeschi, clinical professor and executive director, Institute for Human-Animal Connection


2:10 2:25 p.m. PDT / 5:10 5:25 p.m. EDT

Advocacy and Lobbying Limitations for Animal Philanthropies

Abby Levine, director, Bolder Advocacy (a program of Alliance for Justice)


2:25 – 3:00 p.m. PDT / 5:25 – 6:00 p.m. EDT

Legislative and Election Update

Marty Irby, executive director, Animal Wellness Action


3:00 – 3:05 p.m. PDT / 6:00 – 6:05 p.m. EDT

2021 Toronto Conference Information

2021 Annual Conference co-chairs


3:05 3:15 p.m. PDT / 6:05 – 6:15 p.m. EDT

Concluding Remarks & Adjournment

Louisa McCune


Contact Us  |  About Us

© 2020 Animal Grantmakers • All Rights Reserved