Log in

Program Overview

Animal Grantmakers is the nation’s only funder affinity group focused on protecting and enabling the wellbeing of animals of all stripes. Together, we envision a safer and kinder world for animals, and a better and more sustainable future for us all.

Join us in historic Philadelphia, Pennsylvania October 22 - 25, 2023 as we gather with peer funders, grantees, scientists, academics, and other experts in the field to strengthen our collective impact.

With interdependence as this year's theme, the unparalleled conference will feature:

Three amazing field trips: 1) Ryerss Farm for Aged Equines; 2) ACCT Philly; and 3) an animal rights / vegan history walking tour.

Many opportunities to socialize and network with peers, including three receptions, a gala dinner, and group meals and breaks.

Rich presentations and discussions with leading experts on a wide range of animals and animal issues, with a focus on interdependence and intersectionality.

Several interactive workshops on such topics as advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in animal protection and where animal philanthropy should be in 2030.

An afternoon of "Lightning Talks" (shorter solo presentations inspired by last year’s TED-type Talks).

Other dynamic formats, including film, panel discussions, and a dinner keynote from Beth Allgood, founder and executive director of One Nature.

See the program and confirmed speakers for more detailed information.

Register here!

The deadline to register for the conference is October 14, 2023. Please consider making a donation to help Animal Grantmakers continue to provide a stellar conference focused on improving the welfare of animals through engaged philanthropy.

Book your room here!

The deadline to book your room at the Sofitel Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square at Animal Grantmakers’ discounted group rate is September 30, 2023. Room availability cannot be guaranteed after the deadline. invisible invisible

Important Note

The Animal Grantmakers Annual Conference is limited to members of Animal Grantmakers and organizations that are primarily grantmakers. If you are interested in learning more about Animal Grantmakers and attending the conference for free as a first-time guest, please contact

If you have any questions or need help, please contact Lisa Rapps, conference coordinator, at

Become a Conference Sponsor

Your sponsorship of the 2023 Animal Grantmakers Conference is critical to our ability to draw prominent speakers, provide compelling and actionable programming, and enable participants to build meaningful relationships, all of which will strengthen our collective impact on behalf of animals. See Sponsorship Levels and Benefits to learn more.

If you are interested in sponsoring the conference, please email Larry Green, Animal Grantmakers’ Board president, at We would be honored to partner with you!

2023 Conference Sponsors






2023 Conference Committee

Sue Leary, Co-Chair
Alternatives Research and Development Foundation

Kathy Tietje, Co-Chair
Morris Animal Foundation

Kate Atema
PetSmart Charities

Larry Green
Botstiber Institute for Wildlife Fertility Control

Bethany Heins
Best Friends Animal Society

Jill Hoffman
Animal Grantmakers - Membership and Communications Consultant

Lisa Rapps
ANTHiLL Events – Conference Coordinator

Animal Grantmakers Annual Conference Code of Conduct

Animal Grantmakers honors the intrinsic dignity, autonomy, potential, and worth of all people and values the diversity of views, expertise, opinions, backgrounds, and experiences of its audience.

The Animal Grantmakers Annual Conference is intended to provide a one-of-a-kind opportunity for funders of animal protection and causes that intersect with animal issues to: network; hear from leading experts on many challenging issues, topics, and trends relevant to their funding activities; and, enhance their grantcraft.

To that end, this conference promotes an environment that is inclusive, welcoming, supportive, collaborative, and productive for all participants, including speakers, attendees, vendors, sponsors, and staff/consultants.

To ensure a successful conference, all participants are expected to abide by the following principles:

  • Kindness and courtesy toward fellow participants
  • Open and respectful communication
  • Respect for diversity of opinions
  • Professionalism

Animal Grantmakers, and its agents, may take any action deemed necessary, including immediate removal from the conference without warning or refund, against any participant who engages in inappropriate behavior.

Contact Us  |  About Us

© 2024 Animal Grantmakers • All Rights Reserved